- What the Certified International Freight Forwarder Credential Is
- Who Runs the Program and How It Is Positioned
- Exam Format: What Is Confirmed and What Is Not
- The Twelve Knowledge Areas Behind the Exam
- Registration, Fees and Proctoring Mechanics
- Eligibility and Preparation Expectations
- Annual Renewal and Continuing Education
- Who Benefits and Where the Credential Fits
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Twelve Areas
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CIFF here means Certified International Freight Forwarder, an intermediate-level credential from International Trade Certification, a service of ICPA.
- The exam is four hours, English-only, closed-book and remotely or in-person proctored, with a USD $300 fee.
- Twelve published Knowledge Requirements define the scope, from Air Freight and Ocean Freight to Agency and Scope.
- Official domain weights, item count and numerical passing threshold are not verified, so prepare evenly across all twelve areas.
What the Certified International Freight Forwarder Credential Is
The Certified International Freight Forwarder (CIFF) credential verifies that a professional understands the knowledge base behind moving goods across borders on behalf of shippers. It covers the modes of transport, the paperwork, the regulations, the risk-transfer concepts and the legal role a forwarder plays when acting for a client. It is a knowledge-based certification: you demonstrate command of the published Knowledge Requirements by passing a proctored examination.
A note on the acronym matters before going further. Several unrelated credentials and organizations abbreviate themselves "CIFF." This article, and this site, concern only the Certified International Freight Forwarder program run by International Trade Certification. If you want a shorter orientation on naming, see our explainers on what CIFF stands for and CIFF meaning.
Who Runs the Program and How It Is Positioned
The certification is offered by International Trade Certification (ITC), a service of ICPA. According to the issuer materials, ICPA has run the International Trade Certification program since February 2026. The current program page describes the CIFF as an intermediate-level certification, and it describes online, proctored, closed-book examinations.
The PDF's file metadata dates to January 15, 2025, which means a current exam revision date cannot be confirmed from the public documents. Candidates should check the issuer's program page when they apply to make sure they are working from the latest scope.
Exam Format: What Is Confirmed and What Is Not
Being precise here protects you from planning around rumors. Here is what the public material establishes versus what it leaves open.
| Topic | Status |
|---|---|
| Duration | Four hours |
| Language | English only |
| Book policy | Closed-book |
| Proctoring | Online via ProctorFree, or an approved impartial in-person proctor |
| Exam fee | USD $300, with no separate member or nonmember rate published |
| Number of questions | Not verified |
| Scored versus unscored items | Not verified |
| Question format | Not verified |
| Numerical passing threshold | Not verified |
| Official domain percentage weights | Not verified |
| Public pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Official sample or practice exam | None identified |
| Calculator and adaptive-testing rules | Not verified |
Because the unverified items are many, be skeptical of any source that quotes an exact question count, cut score or pass percentage for this credential. For deeper treatment of those open questions, read our pieces on the CIFF passing score and the CIFF pass rate, and our assessment of how hard the CIFF exam is.
The Twelve Knowledge Areas Behind the Exam
The Knowledge Requirements document, on page 2 of the PDF linked from the issuer's program page, lists twelve rows. We treat them as twelve preparation categories. They are assessed knowledge topics, not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint, so no one can honestly say which is "most heavily tested." Two rows share the label Terminology; we distinguish them with parentheses purely for clarity. For a fuller walk-through, see the complete guide to all 12 CIFF content areas.
Transport modes
Domain 1: Air Freight
The requirements cover air freight as a mode: its documents and the practical issues that arise when cargo moves by air.
- Know the documents that accompany an air shipment
- Understand practical handling and operational considerations unique to air cargo
Domain 2: Ocean Freight
Ocean freight is treated the same way: the mode, its documents and its practical issues.
- Know the documents that accompany an ocean shipment
- Understand the practical issues of containerized and port-based movement
Domain 3: Intermodal Shipments
This row covers intermodal transportation, where a single movement combines more than one mode.
- Understand how handoffs between modes affect documentation and responsibility
- Be able to reason about a shipment that spans air, ocean, rail or road legs
Paperwork, rules and language
Domain 4: Documentation
Shipping forms and the requirements common to international shipments.
- Recognize which forms apply to which situations
- Understand what makes a document set complete and consistent
Domain 5: Regulation
The rules governing cross-border shipping.
- Understand how regulatory requirements shape what a forwarder must do on each shipment
Domain 6: Terminology (logistics and supply chains, including Incoterms)
The vocabulary of logistics and supply chains, explicitly including Incoterms.
- Be fluent in Incoterms, since they define who does what and who bears risk along the journey
- Know the standard logistics and supply-chain terms well enough to read a quote or contract without ambiguity
Risk, physical handling and facilities
Domain 7: Insurance
Sources of cargo insurance, liabilities, and loss and damage claims.
- Understand where coverage comes from and who is liable when something goes wrong
- Know the basics of how loss and damage claims are approached
Domain 8: Packaging and Crating
Containers, packaging, crating and labeling.
- Connect packaging choices to damage prevention and to compliance with labeling expectations
Domain 9: Warehouses and Free Trade Zones
The appropriate use of bonded customs warehouses and free trade zones.
- Focus on appropriate use: when each facility type is the right tool and why
Process, authority and trade vocabulary
Domain 10: Logistics Processes
Automation, monitoring and control technology and practices.
- Understand how technology and process controls support tracking, visibility and consistency
Domain 11: Agency and Scope
The freight forwarder's legal authority and responsibilities.
- Understand what a forwarder is empowered to do on a client's behalf and where that authority and responsibility end
Domain 12: Terminology (international trade)
Common international-trade terms, distinct from the logistics-and-supply-chain vocabulary in Domain 6.
- Cover the trade-side language that appears across customs, finance and cross-border commerce
Registration, Fees and Proctoring Mechanics
The process is straightforward but has a timing rule that catches people out. You apply and pay at least 30 days before the exam, so last-minute scheduling is not an option. The fee is USD $300, and no separate member or nonmember pricing is published. Our CIFF certification cost breakdown adds the renewal fee and CEU costs to give the full lifetime picture.
The ITC online process uses ProctorFree remote proctoring, or you can use an approved impartial in-person proctor. Either way, the exam is closed-book, so there is no bringing reference material into the session. Because the exam runs four hours, plan for a quiet, interruption-free environment, a stable internet connection if testing remotely, and enough stamina to stay sharp through the full window. For deadline planning, see our guide to CIFF exam dates and scheduling.
Eligibility and Preparation Expectations
The current program describes no prerequisite education or training, although preparation is recommended. Self-study is allowed, and approved training is optional. The accessible material does not specify universal degree, experience, training-hour or reference requirements. That makes this credential unusually open compared with certifications that gate entry behind years of documented experience.
Open access does not mean easy. With a four-hour closed-book exam covering twelve topic areas, you need to be able to recall terms, documents and responsibilities without notes. Our CIFF requirements guide lays out the eligibility picture in more detail, and our overview of CIFF training options explains how optional approved courses fit alongside self-study.
Key Takeaway
No official sample or practice exam has been identified, so you cannot calibrate against real items. Build your own readiness check by explaining each of the twelve knowledge rows aloud without notes, then use quality practice questions on the CIFF Exam Prep practice test site to find weak spots.
Annual Renewal and Continuing Education
Passing is not the end of the obligation. According to the live program page, annual renewal requires ten ITC CEUs, where a CEU is defined as one contact hour (so ten CEUs equal ten contact hours), plus a USD $50 processing fee per certification. This is an every-year cycle, not the five-year cycle shown in the older PDF diagram.
Practically, this means you should treat the credential as a recurring commitment. Keep a simple record of contact hours as you earn them, and budget for the annual fee. If you hold or plan to hold more than one ITC certification, remember the fee applies per certification.
Who Benefits and Where the Credential Fits
The CIFF suits people whose daily work touches international shipments: forwarders and forwarding-company staff, customer service and operations coordinators, documentation specialists, importers and exporters who manage their own logistics, and professionals moving into international logistics from adjacent fields. The twelve knowledge rows map closely to real tasks: choosing a mode, preparing documents, applying Incoterms to a sale, arranging insurance, packing and labeling cargo, and understanding when a bonded warehouse or free trade zone makes sense.
For employment angles, read our overview of jobs connected to the CIFF and the CIFF salary guide. Keep in mind that no specific salary figures are asserted here, because none are verified in the issuer's materials. If you are weighing the investment, our ROI analysis of the CIFF frames the question around your own role and goals.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Twelve Areas
Because official weights are unverified, do not over-invest in any one area on the assumption it dominates the exam. A sensible approach groups related topics so each week builds on the last. The sequence below puts vocabulary first because Incoterms and trade terms recur in nearly every other area.
Language foundation
- Domain 6: logistics and supply-chain terminology, with Incoterms
- Domain 12: international-trade terminology
Modes of transport
- Domain 1: Air Freight
- Domain 2: Ocean Freight
- Domain 3: Intermodal Shipments
Paperwork and rules
- Domain 4: Documentation
- Domain 5: Regulation
- Domain 11: Agency and Scope
Risk, handling and facilities
- Domain 7: Insurance
- Domain 8: Packaging and Crating
- Domain 9: Warehouses and Free Trade Zones
- Domain 10: Logistics Processes
Leave your final days for closed-book self-testing across all twelve areas, since that matches the real conditions. A fuller plan, including how to pace a four-hour sitting, is in our CIFF study guide, and the CIFF cheat sheet offers a compact review of must-know facts to revisit right before test day. For other angles on the credential itself, see our pages on what CIFF certification is and CIFF certification.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified International Freight Forwarder, the intermediate-level credential offered by International Trade Certification, a service of ICPA. Other credentials share the acronym, but they are unrelated to this program.
The exam is four hours, English-only and closed-book, with a USD $300 fee. You apply and pay at least 30 days before the exam. Proctoring is online through ProctorFree or in person with an approved impartial proctor.
The public materials do not verify the item count, the split between scored and unscored items, the question format or a numerical passing threshold. Be cautious of sources that state exact figures, and check the issuer for updates.
The current program describes no prerequisite education or training, though preparation is recommended. Self-study is allowed and approved training is optional. Universal degree or experience requirements are not specified in the accessible material.
Annual renewal requires ten ITC CEUs, defined as ten contact hours, plus a USD $50 processing fee per certification. This follows the live program page, which takes precedence over the older five-year language in the Knowledge Requirements PDF.