- CIFF Requirements at a Glance
- What "No Prerequisites" Really Means
- Who Should Sit for the CIFF
- How to Qualify: From Application to Exam Day
- Proctoring, Format and Exam-Day Rules
- The Knowledge You Need to Bring: Twelve Requirement Areas
- Turning Requirements Into a Readiness Plan
- Maintaining the Credential: Annual CEU Requirement
- What Is Not Published (and How to Plan Around It)
- Where the Credential Fits in Your Career
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The current ITC program requires no prerequisite education or training to sit for the CIFF exam, though preparation is recommended.
- Exam fee is USD $300; apply and pay at least 30 days before your exam date.
- The exam is four hours, English-only, closed-book and remotely proctored via ProctorFree or an approved in-person proctor.
- Prepare against twelve published Knowledge Requirements, from Air Freight to Agency and Scope.
CIFF Requirements at a Glance
Certified International Freight Forwarder (CIFF) is an intermediate-level credential run by International Trade Certification, a service of ICPA. If you are searching for the CIFF requirements, the short version is refreshingly simple: the program does not gate entry behind a degree, a minimum number of years in the industry, or mandatory coursework. What it does gate is knowledge. The exam is a four-hour, closed-book test, so the real "requirement" is being able to demonstrate command of the freight forwarding body of knowledge without notes.
| Requirement | What the Program Says |
|---|---|
| Education prerequisite | None required |
| Training prerequisite | None required; approved training is optional and preparation is recommended |
| Exam fee | USD $300; no separate member/nonmember rate published |
| Application deadline | Apply and pay at least 30 days before the exam |
| Exam length | Four hours |
| Language | English only |
| Reference materials | Closed book |
| Proctoring | ProctorFree remote proctoring or an approved impartial in-person proctor |
| Renewal | Ten ITC CEUs (ten contact hours) and USD $50 processing fee per certification, annually |
For a broader orientation before you dig into eligibility, see our explainer on what CIFF certification is and the overview at CIFF Certification.
What "No Prerequisites" Really Means
The program describes online proctored, closed-book examinations with no prerequisite education or training required. That is genuinely open access: a recent graduate, a customs clerk, a warehouse supervisor or a career changer can all apply. But "no prerequisites" is not the same as "no preparation needed." The program itself recommends preparation, and the exam is classified at the intermediate level.
What is not specified
Accessible program material does not state any universal degree requirement, minimum experience, mandated training-hour count or reference requirement. If you encounter a third-party site claiming a specific number of years of experience or a particular degree is mandatory, treat it with caution and verify it directly with the issuer. We do not invent thresholds here, and neither should you plan around them.
Self-study versus approved training
Self-study is allowed. Approved training courses exist but are optional. One important distinction: the titles of approved-provider courses are not exam domains. A course name does not tell you what will be tested; the published Knowledge Requirements do. If you are weighing a course, our page on CIFF training covers the options, and the CIFF study guide shows how to prepare on your own.
Who Should Sit for the CIFF
Because eligibility is open, the better question is fit. The credential speaks to people whose daily work touches international cargo movement. Typical candidates include:
- Freight forwarding and brokerage staff who coordinate air, ocean and intermodal moves and want a recognized credential to back their experience.
- Import/export coordinators and customs documentation specialists who handle shipping forms and cross-border compliance.
- Logistics and supply chain analysts who need fluency in Incoterms, insurance, packaging and warehousing concepts.
- Career entrants who want structured proof of foundational freight forwarding knowledge before their first role.
- Operations managers overseeing teams who must understand a forwarder's legal authority and responsibilities.
Career opportunities are described on the program's own materials, but they are not examination topics, so do not mistake a job list for study content. For employer-side information, see CIFF jobs and the financial perspective in the CIFF salary guide.
How to Qualify: From Application to Exam Day
Qualifying for the credential is a process, not a credential-review hurdle. Because there is no experience screening, the sequence is mostly administrative, with one deadline that trips people up.
- Confirm the credential is the right fit. Make sure you are pursuing Certified International Freight Forwarder specifically, since the CIFF acronym is used elsewhere in other fields. Our page on what CIFF stands for clears this up.
- Review the Knowledge Requirements. The issuer publishes a Knowledge Requirements PDF listing the topics assessed. Read it before you commit to a date.
- Apply and pay at least 30 days before your exam. The fee is USD $300. Late applications risk missing your intended window, so build the 30-day lead time into your calendar. For scheduling mechanics, see CIFF exam dates.
- Choose your proctoring route. The online process uses ProctorFree remote proctoring or an approved impartial in-person proctor.
- Sit the four-hour closed-book exam. English only, no outside references.
Key Takeaway
The single most important qualification deadline is the 30-day rule. Pick your target exam date first, count back at least 30 days, and treat that as your real application deadline. A full cost picture, including renewal, is in the CIFF certification cost breakdown.
Proctoring, Format and Exam-Day Rules
Qualifying also means meeting the proctoring conditions. The ITC online process offers two options: ProctorFree remote proctoring, or an approved impartial in-person proctor. Which is better depends on your environment. Remote proctoring suits candidates with a quiet room and reliable equipment; an in-person proctor suits those who prefer a controlled setting or lack a suitable home environment.
What the format tells you
The exam is four hours long, in English, and closed-book. The exact item count, the split between scored and unscored items, the item format and the numerical passing threshold are not verified in accessible material, and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. There is also no official sample or practice exam, and calculator and adaptive-testing rules are unverified. Practically, that means you should prepare for breadth and recall: with no reference materials allowed, you need Incoterms, document names and mode-specific practices in memory. If you are curious about scoring, see CIFF passing score and CIFF pass rate for what is and is not known.
The Knowledge You Need to Bring: Twelve Requirement Areas
The clearest "requirement" you face is knowledge-based. The issuer's Knowledge Requirements PDF lists twelve rows of assessed topics. These serve as unweighted preparation categories: official percentage weights remain unverified, so no area can be declared the highest-weighted, and the list is not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint. Treat all twelve as fair game. For a deeper walkthrough, see the complete guide to all 12 CIFF content areas.
Domains 1-3: The Modes of Transport
Air Freight, Ocean Freight and Intermodal Shipments form the operational core.
- Air Freight: the mode, its documents and practical issues.
- Ocean Freight: the mode, its documents and practical issues.
- Intermodal Shipments: how cargo moves across multiple transport modes.
Domains 4-5: Paperwork and Rules
The compliance backbone of cross-border shipping.
- Documentation: shipping forms and their common requirements.
- Regulation: rules governing cross-border shipping.
Domains 6 and 12: Two Terminology Rows
The Knowledge Requirements contain two separate Terminology rows, distinguished here by parentheses.
- Terminology (logistics and supply chains, including Incoterms): the language of logistics and supply chain, with Incoterms explicitly included.
- Terminology (international trade): common international-trade terms.
Domains 7-9: Risk, Handling and Storage
Protecting and positioning cargo.
- Insurance: sources, liabilities, and loss and damage claims.
- Packaging and Crating: containers, packaging, crating and labeling.
- Warehouses and Free Trade Zones: appropriate use of bonded customs warehouses and free trade zones.
Domains 10-11: Systems and Authority
How the work is managed and the forwarder's legal footing.
- Logistics Processes: automation, monitoring and control technology and practices.
- Agency and Scope: the freight forwarder's legal authority and responsibilities.
One caution worth repeating: the Knowledge Requirements PDF the program currently links carries January 15, 2025 creation metadata, and a verified 2026 exam revision has not been confirmed. Treat it as the best available statement of scope, and check the issuer's program page before you finalize your plan.
Turning Requirements Into a Readiness Plan
Since no experience threshold exists, your readiness depends on honestly auditing which of the twelve areas you already know from work and which are new. A customs documentation specialist may be strong on Domains 4 and 5 but thin on Insurance and Warehouses and Free Trade Zones; a warehouse supervisor may have the opposite profile. Below is a sample sequencing that front-loads the foundations, with no claim that it matches any official weighting.
Language First
- Drill both Terminology rows, especially Incoterms, since every other domain uses this vocabulary.
- Learn Agency and Scope so you understand what a forwarder is legally authorized to do.
Modes and Movement
- Cover Air Freight and Ocean Freight, pairing each mode with its documents.
- Add Intermodal Shipments to see how modes connect.
Compliance and Risk
- Work through Documentation and Regulation together.
- Study Insurance, focusing on liabilities and loss and damage claims.
Handling, Storage, Systems
- Review Packaging and Crating, then Warehouses and Free Trade Zones.
- Finish with Logistics Processes, then a full closed-book review of all twelve areas.
Because there is no official sample exam, you will need to rely on third-party practice material. Our CIFF practice tests are built around the twelve published knowledge areas, and the CIFF study guide goes deeper on method.
Maintaining the Credential: Annual CEU Requirement
Qualifying is only the first half; staying qualified is an ongoing requirement. According to the live program page, the credential is described as Intermediate and renewal requires ten ITC CEUs every year. A CEU here is defined as ten contact hours, alongside a USD $50 processing fee per certification.
Plan your CEU activity across the year rather than cramming near renewal. Building continuing education into your regular professional development makes annual renewal manageable, and it keeps your knowledge of regulation and documentation current, which shifts over time.
What Is Not Published (and How to Plan Around It)
A trustworthy requirements guide should be explicit about gaps. These items remain unverified in accessible public material:
- Exact number of exam items and the scored versus unscored split
- Item format (for example, how questions are structured)
- The numerical passing threshold, and the public pass rate
- Official percentage weights for each knowledge area
- Whether a verified 2026 exam revision exists beyond the January 2025 PDF
- Calculator and adaptive-testing rules
The practical response is to avoid optimizing for a single area. With weights unpublished, balanced coverage of all twelve is the safest strategy. If you need to know whether the credential is worth the effort given these unknowns, read our ROI analysis.
Where the Credential Fits in Your Career
Because the CIFF carries no formal eligibility screen, its value comes from what it signals: that you have demonstrated working knowledge across air, ocean and intermodal freight, documentation, regulation, insurance and the legal scope of a forwarder's role. Employers in freight forwarding, customs brokerage, third-party logistics and import/export operations are the natural audience. The program's own career opportunities listing is informational rather than examable content, so use it to explore roles rather than to study. For a closer look at roles and earnings, read CIFF jobs and the CIFF salary guide. If you want to confirm what the term means before committing, start with What Is CIFF?.
When you are ready to test your knowledge against the published scope, our practice test platform offers question sets aligned to all twelve areas, which is useful given that no official practice exam is available.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. The current program states that no prerequisite education or training is required, although preparation is recommended. Accessible material does not specify any universal degree, experience, training-hour or reference requirement.
The exam fee is USD $300, with no separate member or nonmember rate published. Annual renewal adds a USD $50 processing fee per certification plus ten ITC CEUs. See the cost breakdown for details.
Apply and pay at least 30 days before your exam date. Plan backward from your target date so the deadline does not force you to postpone.
Either, in effect. The ITC online process uses ProctorFree remote proctoring or an approved impartial in-person proctor. The exam is four hours, English-only and closed-book.
The twelve published Knowledge Requirements: Air Freight, Ocean Freight, Intermodal Shipments, Documentation, Regulation, two Terminology rows, Insurance, Packaging and Crating, Warehouses and Free Trade Zones, Logistics Processes, and Agency and Scope. Official weights are unverified, so study all twelve.