CIFF logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CIFF Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • The issuer does not publicly disclose a CIFF pass rate, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
  • The CIFF exam is four hours, English-only, closed-book, remotely proctored, with a USD $300 exam fee.
  • The numerical passing threshold and exact item count are not published in accessible official material.
  • Twelve published Knowledge Requirements define the preparation scope, but official percentage weights remain unverified.

What the Data Actually Shows About CIFF Pass Rates

If you searched for the Certified International Freight Forwarder pass rate hoping for a clean number, here is the honest answer: there isn't a publicly disclosed one. International Trade Certification, the program run by ICPA, does not publish the share of candidates who pass the CIFF exam, and no accessible official document supplies one.

That is an uncomfortable answer for a candidate trying to gauge risk, but it is a more useful starting point than the alternative. Several sites will confidently quote a percentage for "the CIFF." Be skeptical. The acronym is shared by other, unrelated credentials, and pass-rate claims copied from one program onto another are a common source of misinformation. On this page, every statement is about the Certified International Freight Forwarder credential specifically, and where the data does not exist, we say so.

This article walks through what is known, what is not, and how to turn the available facts into a realistic readiness assessment. If you want the broader difficulty picture, our guide on how hard the CIFF exam is pairs well with this one.

Why No Pass Rate Is Published

Certification bodies vary widely in transparency. Some publish annual pass statistics; many do not. For the CIFF, a few structural reasons make a published rate unlikely to be meaningful even if it existed:

  • The program changed hands recently. ICPA has run the International Trade Certification program since February 2026. A new administrator often means historical statistics are incomplete, not comparable, or simply not carried over.
  • The candidate pool is self-selected. There is no mandatory education or training prerequisite, and self-study is allowed. A pass rate across a pool that mixes seasoned forwarders with newcomers says little about your individual odds.
  • The scoring details are not public. Without a published passing threshold or item count, even an official pass rate would be hard to interpret.
Treat unsourced percentages as noise: If a site cites a specific CIFF pass rate without naming the issuer document it came from, assume it is a guess or borrowed from a different credential. Plan around the verified exam structure instead.

The Facts We Can Verify

Although the pass rate is undisclosed, the exam's structure is documented well enough to plan around. Based on the issuer's public program page and the linked Knowledge Requirements PDF:

  • Format: A four-hour, closed-book, English-only examination.
  • Delivery: Online, with either ProctorFree remote proctoring or an approved impartial in-person proctor.
  • Fee: USD $300, with no separate member or nonmember rate published. See our CIFF certification cost breakdown for the full cost picture.
  • Prerequisites: No prerequisite education or training is required, though preparation is recommended. Approved training is optional. Details are covered in CIFF requirements.
  • Timing: Apply and pay at least 30 days before the exam.

What remains unverified: the exact number of questions, the split between scored and unscored items, the question format, and the numerical passing threshold. If you are looking for a cut score, our page on the CIFF passing score explains what is and isn't established.

Reading the Knowledge Requirements as a Difficulty Signal

Without pass-rate data, the best proxy for difficulty is the breadth and nature of what is assessed. The issuer's Knowledge Requirements PDF lists twelve rows. We treat these as unweighted preparation categories: they describe assessed knowledge topics but are not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint, and no highest-weighted domain has been established. For a full walkthrough, see the complete guide to all 12 CIFF content areas.

Here is what the breadth tells you.

Mode-specific operational knowledge

Air Freight and Ocean Freight

Each mode is its own row, covering the mode itself, its documents, and practical issues.

  • Know the documents unique to each mode, not just the general shipping paperwork.
  • Expect practical, scenario-flavored thinking: what goes wrong and how a forwarder handles it.
  • Do not assume knowing one mode transfers to the other.

Intermodal Shipments

Covers intermodal transportation, where cargo moves across more than one mode under a coordinated arrangement.

  • Understand how handoffs between modes affect documentation and responsibility.
  • Connect this row back to Air Freight and Ocean Freight, since intermodal moves combine them.

Paperwork, rules, and language

Documentation and Regulation

Documentation covers shipping forms and common requirements; Regulation covers cross-border shipping rules.

  • Learn which forms accompany which kinds of shipments and why.
  • Be able to explain the rules governing movement across borders, not merely name them.

Terminology (two separate rows)

One row covers logistics and supply-chain language including Incoterms; the other covers common international-trade terms.

  • Incoterms deserve deliberate study: know how each term allocates responsibility between buyer and seller.
  • Because terminology appears as two rows, vocabulary gaps can hurt in multiple places.

Risk, handling, and structure

Insurance, Packaging and Crating, Warehouses and Free Trade Zones

Insurance covers sources, liabilities, loss and damage claims. Packaging and Crating covers containers, packaging, crating and labeling. Warehouses and Free Trade Zones covers the appropriate use of bonded customs warehouses and free trade zones.

  • For Insurance, focus on who is liable when something goes wrong and how claims work.
  • For Warehouses and Free Trade Zones, focus on when each is the appropriate choice.

Logistics Processes and Agency and Scope

Logistics Processes covers automation, monitoring and control technology and practices. Agency and Scope covers the freight forwarder's legal authority and responsibilities.

  • Agency and Scope is the conceptual core of the profession: what a forwarder is authorized to do and answerable for.
  • Logistics Processes rewards familiarity with how technology is used to track and control shipments.

Key Takeaway

The CIFF's difficulty comes from breadth, not depth in any single area. Twelve rows spanning modes, paperwork, law, risk, and technology mean the main failure mode is leaving an entire category thin. Our CIFF study guide shows how to cover all of them.

Verified vs. Unverified: A Quick Reference

ItemStatusWhat We Know
Pass rateNot disclosedNo public figure from the issuer
Exam lengthVerifiedFour hours
Exam feeVerifiedUSD $300, no separate member/nonmember rate published
DeliveryVerifiedOnline; ProctorFree or approved in-person proctor
Language and book policyVerifiedEnglish only; closed-book
Item count and formatUnverifiedNot published in accessible material
Passing thresholdUnverifiedNo numerical cut score published
Domain weightsUnverifiedTwelve rows published; no official percentages
Official practice examNone availableNo official sample or practice exam

One point of potential confusion: the Knowledge Requirements PDF carries January 15, 2025 creation metadata, and a verified 2026 exam revision has not been established. The PDF also contains policy statements (an "Entry-Level" label and a renewal diagram) that conflict with the live program page, which describes the credential as Intermediate with ten CEUs every year. When sources conflict, rely on the live program page for policy and confirm directly with the issuer.

Who Sits the CIFF Exam

Because no formal experience or training is required, the candidate pool plausibly spans several groups: working freight forwarders formalizing their expertise, customs and logistics staff broadening their scope, and newcomers entering the industry. That mix is one reason a headline pass rate would be misleading, and why your preparation should be calibrated to your own background rather than to an aggregate.

People who already work in forwarding often find the operational rows (Air Freight, Ocean Freight, Documentation) familiar but may be rusty on formal terminology, Incoterms, Insurance liability, or Agency and Scope. Newcomers face the opposite problem: the vocabulary is learnable, but the practical judgment behind it takes longer. For the types of roles this credential supports, see CIFF jobs and the CIFF salary guide. Whether the investment makes sense for you is covered in whether the CIFF is worth it.

Career topics aren't exam topics: The Knowledge Requirements PDF lists career opportunities on page 1, but these are not examination content. Your preparation scope comes from the twelve knowledge rows on page 2.

A Domain-Ordered Readiness Plan

With no official practice exam and no published weights, sequencing matters. The plan below orders the twelve rows by dependency, building vocabulary first so later material makes sense. Adjust the pacing to your background; this is a scaffold, not a promise.

Week 1

Language foundation

  • Study both Terminology rows, with special attention to Incoterms.
  • Build a personal glossary you will reuse in every later week.
Week 2

Modes of transport

  • Cover Air Freight and Ocean Freight, including the documents specific to each.
  • Add Intermodal Shipments, linking it to the two modes you just studied.
Week 3

Paperwork and rules

  • Work through Documentation and Regulation together, since forms exist because of rules.
  • Map which forms attach to which shipment types.
Week 4

Risk and physical handling

  • Study Insurance (sources, liabilities, claims) and Packaging and Crating.
  • Cover Warehouses and Free Trade Zones, focusing on appropriate use.
Week 5

Process, authority, and review

  • Cover Logistics Processes and Agency and Scope.
  • Use the remaining time to revisit your weakest rows across all twelve.

Since the exam is closed-book and four hours long, also practice sustained concentration: a long, English-only session rewards stamina as much as recall. Quick-reference material such as our CIFF cheat sheet is useful for final review, and structured quizzing on the main practice test site helps expose gaps, though no official practice exam exists to benchmark against.

Registration and Exam-Day Mechanics

Because the process has real lead times, build them into your plan:

  1. Apply and pay early. Submit your application and the USD $300 fee at least 30 days before your intended exam date.
  2. Choose your proctoring route. The online process uses ProctorFree remote proctoring, or you may use an approved impartial in-person proctor.
  3. Prepare your environment. For remote proctoring, check your technology and workspace well in advance of the exam day.
  4. Confirm current details. Because the program recently transitioned administrators, verify scheduling specifics with the issuer. Our CIFF exam dates page tracks what is known about scheduling.

Remember the exam is closed-book and English-only, with no calculator or adaptive-testing rules verified, so do not assume tools or formats that the issuer has not confirmed.

After You Pass: Renewal and Career Use

Passing is not the end of the cost or effort. Per the live program page, annual renewal requires ten ITC CEUs, defined as ten contact hours, plus a USD $50 processing fee per certification. Factor this recurring commitment into your total budget when weighing the credential.

Approved provider course titles are not exam domains, so do not confuse continuing-education offerings with exam content. If you are still orienting yourself to the credential, our overview of what CIFF certification is and the page on what CIFF stands for clarify exactly which credential this is, and the CIFF training page covers optional preparation routes.

Key Takeaway

Since no pass rate exists to reassure or alarm you, base your readiness decision on coverage: can you explain every one of the twelve knowledge rows in your own words? If yes, you are better positioned than any statistic could tell you.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CIFF pass rate?

The issuer has not publicly disclosed a CIFF pass rate, and no accessible official material provides one. Any specific percentage quoted without an issuer source should be treated as unverified. Focus on the verified exam structure and the twelve published Knowledge Requirements instead.

How many questions are on the CIFF exam and what score do I need?

The exact item count, the scored/unscored split, the question format, and the numerical passing threshold are not published in accessible official material. What is verified is that the exam runs four hours, is closed-book, and is delivered in English with remote or approved in-person proctoring.

Is there an official CIFF practice exam?

No official sample or practice exam has been identified. Candidates typically prepare from the twelve published Knowledge Requirements, self-study, or optional approved training, and can supplement with unofficial practice questions such as those on the main practice test site.

Do I need experience or training to take the CIFF exam?

No prerequisite education or training is required, and self-study is allowed, though preparation is recommended. Approved training is optional. The exam fee is USD $300, and you should apply and pay at least 30 days before your exam.

What does it cost to keep the CIFF active?

Annual renewal requires ten ITC CEUs, defined as ten contact hours, plus a USD $50 processing fee per certification. Some older issuer documents show different renewal timing, so rely on the current live program page and confirm with the issuer.

Ready to pass your CIFF exam?

Put this into practice with free CIFF questions across every exam domain.